It’s that time of year again

Well, I have a week and a half left of my first semester in graduate school. The to-do list is getting shorter. Today I was able to check of my museology paper presentation. It went okay, I guess. I hate presentations like that. I largely winged it, just because I was want for time to prepare. It is a very short paper by graduate seminar terms, and I basically have it all figured out. I got some helpful and not so helpful feedback from my peers, but at this point, it’s a little late for any real changes.

I am both looking forward to and not looking forward to going home. It will be nice to see my parents and our friends and get together for the usual holiday gatherings, but I know I will be bored sitting in the country isolation before long. I will miss my cadre back in Gainesville and the trouble we get up to around here. I will not miss work and schoolwork, though. I’ll keep myself busy with my photography at home. I have catching up to do on that front.

The past week was not such a great one. There was a lot of personal stress to add to the scholastic stress. I’m glad I had such a nice Thanksgiving holiday beforehand. It softened the blows of last week a smidge. It’s funny how personal troubles come at what seem to be the most inopportune times. I mean, there’s never a good time for them, but they always seem to pop up for me around finals for some reason.

Death is something that comes around holidays in our family. This year was no different. My grandfather took ill a few days before Thanksgiving, and it was a steady decline until he finally passed last Thursday. I should be clear, before I get a lot of misplaced but well meaning condolences. I was not close to my grandfather by any means. Quite frankly I never liked him at all, and I hadn’t actually physically seen him in three years or so by my own choice. This is not the forum to explain why, so I won’t because that’s no one’s business but my own. However, death in a family is always hard in some way or another. A couple of my relatives who I do care about and love very much were deeply affected by his passing, and it is hard to watch those you love suffer. Death, when close, also makes one pause to consider their own mortality. He was the last really of that generation left in my family which means that my mother’s generation is now on the front line, so to speak. We all shifted positions, and now I am in her place where she is in her father’s. It’s strange, and though I hope they will be around with us for many years to come, it’s odd to view my mom and aunts as the next in the queue. Enough with the morbidity, though.

Well, now I should get on to the next project that needs finishing. I don’t know how long I’ll make it before falling asleep, though. I was up too late last night. Oh finals season…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

