I’m finally getting to this.

Way back in July, a lovely friend of mine in the blogosphere (I can’t believe I just used that term) nominated me for something called the Seven Links Project. The idea of the SLP is this: a fellow blogger nominates you along with four other bloggers they deem worthy and each blogger is supposed to revisit their previous posts and find one that fits each of seven categories. Then that blogger continues the cycle by nominating five more bloggers. There is no pressure to complete the task, but it is a fun exercise if you’re game, and it’s always nice to be admired for your work.

The wonderful Sophie Keates Gazey of Sophie’s Words, who makes frequent and very welcomed appearances in the comments section of my posts nominated me. I’m going to take a few sentences to talk about Sophie since I think it’s against the rules to nominate the blog that nominated you. Although, I’ve never gotten to meet her in person, I think she is absolutely lovely. She’s like my honorary aunt all the way across the pond in Northumberland. Her blog is just fabulous as well. I think being the lover of words and dialects that I am, my favorite of all of her posts is “Drink me only with thine ayes.” It’s brilliant. All of it’s brilliant. Just go read her blog, now, please.

Anyway, let me get on to the task at hand. Sorry it’s taken me so long to get to it, Sophie, but again, thanks for nominating The Way Things Come Clear!

Here we go!

1. My Most Beautiful Post

Hm…I’m realizing it’s going to be a bit tricky not to come off as narcissistic with this. I don’t know if any of my posts are what you would necessarily call “beautiful” but one that really showcases me pouring a lot of myself out, and I think honesty can be very beautiful, would be “On the Cusp.” This post was written in the absolute hectic atmosphere of late April of my senior year in college. I was feeling very much myself at this particular moment and had found a pocket of Zenlike serenity in the changes surrounding me. It was a good feeling, and I think this post really captures me at my best.

2. My Most Popular Post

I think this one will be “Artist I’m currently digging.” This was written in the days when I was just entering the thriving wet plate community alive in social media. I had been introduced to Joni Sternbach’s work about a year earlier and loved it so much. I like to share art that inspires me on this blog when I can, and Joni’s work definitely does it. It got a lot of readership because Joni stumbled upon it and shared it with the rest of her fan base. I must admit, I was a little starstruck, and embarrassed for half a second, but it got a lot of people to my blog.

3. My Most Controversial Post

This one is easy: “Back to wet plating.” I suppose this is only controversial for me and anyone else involved in wet plate in the Southeastern U.S. I was very reluctant to write it, as I was afraid it could potentially ruffle some feathers and also potentially lose me business. I decided to go through with it, though, because I don’t believe in censoring myself at all. I was also very appreciative of the support I got from fellow wet plate photographers (mostly European, have I mentioned how much I love you guys? Great bit of the wp community) and felt better for posting it.

4. My Most Helpful Post

This one is very tough. I doubt my blog is very helpful. I didn’t create it to be. I do think anything that informs in any way is helpful, though. With this criteria, I would have to say “The Lovely Lulu” is my most helpful post. I was trying to educate as many as I could about a film icon, and I think I did an adequate job.

5. Post Whose Success Surprises Me

I think this one is: “Through the Lens: A Photographer’s Reformed View of Lewis Carroll” I get search hits on the all the time, and a lot of people have read it, which is funny because I wrote it on a whim one morning in about thirty minutes.

6. Post Which I Feel Didn’t Get the Attention it Deserved

I’m always happy if I get some hits on here, but I’m not writing to become famous. I think I’ll be business-minded with this one and go with “Just a thought: Bands and Wet plates.” I really want to do this with more artists!

7. Post I’m Most Proud Of

Rain, Graduates, and Goodbyes” It’s just a really important post to me.

Now to nominate five fellow bloggers.

1. The first is my darling mother’s blog What I Did Not Know Then. Mom’s a wonderful writer, much better than I am. I pushed her to blog in hopes that it would lead to the Great American Novel that I know is in her. I think it’s helping. I just wish she’d write more.

2. The second is my dear friend and fellow photographer L.S. King’s blog The Photography of L.S. King. Her work is amazing, and it’s a great way to see it.

3. Next I would like to nominate my fellow collodion artist Fionnbharr Ó Súilleabháin’s blog Handmade Imagery. It’s great to watch a fellow artist at work through a chronicle of his progress.

4. Number four is the blog of a college buddy of mine. He’s starting to write more frequently, which is great because he’s a wonderful writer. Travis’s blog is SPACEMANKNEEN. It’s currently chronicling his journey of personal self-discovery post-grad.

5. The last is another college friend’s blog. Christine posts faithfully every day, and her posts are pretty entertaining, and often delightfully random. Her blog is The New Adventures of Old Christine.

3 Comments

Filed under Miscellany

3 responses to “I’m finally getting to this.

  1. Hi Betsy,
    I am flattered to be included in your list! I hope I can do it justice by finding 5 posts that match the categories. I don’t have stats (I don’t think) as I am using self-hosted WordPress so it is hard to judge the “success” of my posts but I’ll give it a go.
    All the best,
    Fin

    • thebetsybeast

      No pressure at all to do this, Fin. I just wanted to make sure I showcased artists and writers for this that I really admired for which I wanted to garner some attention. Stats numbers don’t really matter either for it. You can go based on comments as well.

  2. Hello Betsy! I’m so glad that you managed to find time to rise to the Seven Links challenge, and was really interested to read your considered comments about your chosen links. It’s actually trickier than it looks, isn’t it, especially if you are in any way self-effacing! I’m looking forward to exploring the blogs that you recommended, too – I am rushed off my feet at the moment, so it may be a while yet, but I will get round to it!

    I was deeply touched by your very kind words about me and my blog. They really mean a lot. I will wear my ‘Honourary Aunt’ badge with extreme pride and great pleasure!

    Take care.

    Best wishes,
    Sophie.

Leave a Reply

