Happy days are here again (not)

I would like to start by asking everyone to please keep the victims of the horrible storms in the South in their thoughts. I know they haven’t gotten as much media attention as they should in the past few days due to other world events, but there’s a pretty huge tragedy going on in my home region, so let’s not forget about all the good people down there.

Now, on to lighter things…

Well, it’s that time of the year again, folks. Finals season is here (and my last one of undergrad yikes!) Yes, sleeplessness, caffeine dependence, and frantic study seshes have once again begun to consume the student populace here. I’m a victim too. This is in large part the reason why I haven’t posted much in the past few days. I am knee (or maybe chest) deep in final papers at the moment. As of approximately 6:30 on the evening of May 6th, however, I shall be officially free. I take my last final that afternoon and will be back to posting again. I must admit, I’ve missed it quite a lot, and it’s been hard saving up all I have to say. Alas, I will have to wait, though, as it is essential I make a good showing on my exams and term papers.

On the bright side, though, there are only 15 full days until Graduation. I can’t say that I’m not ready mentally, but, damn, there’s a lot to do in those coming days (finals, squeezing in time with friends, grad preparations–oh jeez, I still have to find something to wear on the big day…) Anyway, needless to say, it’s going to be a busy half month, but the big breath I’ll get to exhale on the morning of the 16th will be all the more lovely for it, until I remember that I’m about to make a two day journey home by car, ah well.

Before I sign off, though, for the next week, I would like to leave you all with two things. The first is the newly minted Flickr photostream from a wet plate contact of mine, Fionnbharr Ó Súilleabháin, an Irish collodion artist living in Portugal. I love his eye, and his images are well worth a look. Find them here. I must say, my favorites are of little Éamonn. That kid is crazy cute!

The second thing I would like to share is purely for fun. Finals season for me always means I have a top-notch list of playlists lined up to get me through. Good music is essential for writing good papers. Here is a video from my high school idols The Clash (I had a great aspiration back then to be Joe Strummer when I grew up).  Enjoy some “Straight to Hell,” and to all those preparing for finals, seniors and otherwise, good luck and give ’em hell!

7 Comments

Filed under Art, Miscellany, Music, Photography

7 responses to “Happy days are here again (not)

  1. Hi Betsy,
    Thanks very much for your kind words and best of luck with the rest of your finals!
    Fionnbharr

  2. thebetsybeast

    Just a note to the readers: I was having a bit of an issue with the content in this one. I guess WordPress is going a little berserk today. I think I’ve fixed it up, though and everything should be running smoothly now. Sorry about that.

  3. I’m going dress shopping with my mom this weekend, actually. So excited for graduation!

    I always listen to The Clash’s “Straight to Hell” (at least one, but usually on repeat) during finals week. Or at least I did, when I had actual exams for which I needed to study.

    • thebetsybeast

      Yeah, I’m making my parents take me to pick out something after they roll in on the 12th. I’m excited, but like I said, it will be a major release and relief when the climax’s reached and it’s all over.

      I’m so jealous about your lack of exams. Bleh, I’m definitely ready to be done with finals. The Clash are good study music, but maybe that’s just because they’re one of my probably top three favorite bands of all time. Nothing beats classic British punk.

  4. Hi Betsy! Sorry, am a bit late leaving a reply to this post. But I did just want to join with everyone else in wishing you good luck with your finals. It’s so strange, we have never met and only have contact through Twitter, but I feel so excited for you, in everything you have to look forward to! I will be rooting for you from Across The Pond in the coming days and weeks!

    Good luck and very best wishes,
    Sophie.

    • thebetsybeast

      Hiya Sophie, no problem and I greatly appreciate the luck. I must say technology is quite amazing. It allows one the opportunity to connect globally and meet really awesome people we wouldn’t otherwise, which just blows my mind. It really makes me smile that I have a cheering section an entire ocean away. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

