Day 26

Anyone who knows me well knows that I can’t play an instrument to save my life. I’ve tried several, and they just never took, so I was a little hard-pressed to think of a song that I could play on an instrument. I don’t know if this counts or not, but way back in the day when I had the supple wrists of a seven-year-old, my parents bought me a bodhrán. I somehow managed to teach myself how to use it quite quickly (ah the elastic mind of childhood) and got pretty good, Kerry style and West Limerick style, although, it’s not a very hard instrument to learn and play. My parents really like The Chieftains so we always had a bunch of their cassettes lying around when I was a kid. For kicks I taught myself the beats for a lot of their songs. This is one I can still remember semi-well, although several years of typing lengthy term papers on keyboards has destroyed my old swiftness with a tipper. Anyway, here is the Chieftains’ version of “Drowsy Maggie.”

Also, if you don’t know what the hell I’m talking about, Wikipedia has a pretty good description of what a bodhrán is here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellany, Music

Leave a Reply

