Day 14

Today’s song sort of runs in the same vein as yesterday’s. I don’t know if my music tastes are predictable or not. I’d like to think that they aren’t, that they’re varied and eclectic enough that they would constantly surprise and amaze, but who knows. In case you haven’t guessed, today’s song is one that no one would expect me to like. I chose Lady Gaga’s “Alejandro.” I have to confess, I’m on the fence about Gaga. Part of me really wants to respect her for taking charge and being a confident, sexually liberated (is that term passé these days?) woman. The other part of me thinks she’s another horrible product of the corporate music world. Anyway, as with Katy Perry, there are a couple of L.G.’s songs that I can’t help but find catchy, and, love her or hate her, I still find Gaga intriguing. Also, the video for Alejandro is kinda awesome, but maybe that’s just because I’ve been studying a lot about fascist states in my classes lately. I do not feel the same way about her full length “Born This Way” video, though. That one just gives me the heebeejeebies.  Watch “Alejandro” here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellany, Music

Leave a Reply

