Faces in the deep

I’ve always been in love with the water ever since I was a child. I have never been happier then when I’m below the surface exploring some reef and interacting with marine life. I never get to do it as often as I like, but when I do, it feels like going home. I was never a beach bum, and while I love beach combing, the thought of going to a coast and spending the entire time lying around on a towel is the most boring way to spend a vacation. I burn very easily too which has something to do with it too. I feel much more comfortable in water.

There was a time when I was growing up that I wanted to be a marine biologist. Unfortunately, as I grew up I realized I have no head for science and I knew that learning about marine life must forever be a hobby. This love for the aquatic made this very interesting living art piece catch my eye. Sculptor Jason deCaires Taylor created the basis for a new reef from over 400 life-size human sculptures. It’s amazing and hauntingly beautiful.

You can find the National Geographic article with stunning pictures of the project here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art

Leave a Reply

