Day 8

Today’s song is one that I know all the words to. I have a knack for remembering lyrics, so there are a lot of songs I know all the words to. However, I picked Vampire Weekend’s “M79.” I think it’s easily my favorite of their canon, and I quite enjoy singing it at the top of my lungs. I can’t do the nifty voice crack think the lead singer does on so many of their songs, though, which always puts me in mind of Professor Longhair. I wonder if there’s a connection there…probably not. I also wish, as with all their songs, I knew what the hell they were singing about. As far as I can tell it’s an ode to different forms of transportation, but I doubt that’s correct. At any rate, it’s a fun little song.

This, by the way, is an awesome stop motion video an artist by the name of Corey McKenna put together as a wedding invitation set to “M79.” I love stop motion, and this is so adorable. Check it out here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellany, Music

Leave a Reply

