Day 7

Day seven is here, and I’m supposed to post a song that reminds me of an event. This one is about as hard as the song associated with a place. I think I’m going to have to go with “Centerfold” by J. Geils Band because the story with this song is too good.

When I was in elementary school, each year in October when Homecoming rolled around for the high school, all of the fifth grade classes would put together a show for the school. They were usually silly little skits centered around some common theme. The year I was in fifth grade the theme was music from the 50s to the 80s. My class got the 80s, and naturally being the little actress I thought I was, I signed up to perform one of the lead bits. I don’t know what my teacher was thinking when she picked the music, but I was assigned to lip sync “Centerfold.” I’ll never forget the look on my dad’s face when I came home from school the day I was assigned the part, and he asked “Does your teacher actually know what that song’s about?” Being the awesome father that he is, and product of the 80s rock scene that he was as a twenty-something, he let me do it anyway. Since that part was only supposed to be for two people, none of the boys were willing to do it because they were all too chicken. I wasn’t, though, so I dressed up as a dude, piled my long blonde hair up under one of those Halloween foam top hats (because my teacher assured me “They wore them all the time back then”), and my friend DeAnn (who I guess was supposed to be the elementary school version of a centerfold except her mother dressed her up as old school Madonna) and I performed to the the cleaner parts of the song. I think that may have been the start of my lifelong dream of being a rock star now that I look back on it. Personally, I think we rocked it even though I wouldn’t learn what the song’s subject matter meant until about a year and a half later (oh the glories of public education). This song will always have a very special place in my heart. You can watch it here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellany, Music

Leave a Reply

